Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

9.7
km

Zootz Kitchen Bar

257 Seaview Road, Henley Beach

Telephone 08 8235 9990

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Modern Australian.

Average of 22 reviews

  • 2.5 / 5 Food
  • 2.3 / 5 Ambience
  • 1.9 / 5 Service
  • 2.2 / 5 Value
  • 8.9 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Zootz Kitchen Bar

13
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 2.5
  • Value: 2.5

Benjamin J: 8 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

The service and delivery of food is inconsistent. The food prices are good but the drinks prices are ridiculous. People who arrived at a table well after we did got their food before we did. Regardless of what you order can come out really quickly or take a long time. Problem being this happens all the time. However they serve a good breakfast and well made coffee. Stella's next door is the way to go if your heading to Henley Square.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 0 disagree.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Zootz Kitchen Bar

 
 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 5

David: 12 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

A friend recommended the Roast Chicken Breast Focaccia, saying it was so good he ended up going back the following day for a second one. It lived up to expectation, so I'll be going back tomorrow too. Looking forward to summer to make the most of the outdoor seating. Service was average.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Anonymous: 12 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

A must for lazy sunday mornings! The breakfast is one I come back many many times! Looking out on the square and watching life pass you by and sitting back relaxing with a great coffee ah what a life! Oh yeah I agree re the Roast Chicken Breast Foccaccia with the previous review also try the Salt and Pepper Squid it is very tender and very moreish!! Also try the cocktail specials as well if you are daring...

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 6 disagree.

 
16.5
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4.5

Adamski: 10 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

This is a funky little place in Henley Square. The menu is simple, but fresh and with great flavours with large serves and usually something different to experience. The service is friendly and efficient and I have always walked away thinking why don't I come here more often?...........Recommended, especially on a sunny day

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
16
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 4

Louise: 10 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

On a fantastic summers afternoon my friend & I went and tried Zoots for the first time. What a great atmosphere, we ordered the Ocean Delight for 2..gee we would have been satisfied with Ocean Delight for 1! There was so much on our plate & was soooo yummy that I couldn't stop eating. I'll be going back.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
15.5
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5

peckish: 8 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

We recently ate a meal there late on a Saturday night. We had a nice experience and I had no complaints. The rush had settled by then so I guess at peak times we may have had a different experince. I had the Thai Beef salad which was tasty and enjoyable. We also ordered the calamari, aloli, chips salad which was nice. The service was good. Yes the drinks are a bit pricy. I will go back again.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
12
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

tt57: 8 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

what a joke of a place you order whats on the menu and they then bring out something different without an explanation. When we queried the dish their response was we ran out of ingrediants. Why not tell us that first. very expensive drinks too. and they had no glasses for the beer ladies were expected to drink from the bottles.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
9
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Panda Bear: 6 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

I held a function there in Sept 2011, and I thought it was pretty poor organization/management of the function by 'Zootz' staff. I wrote a complaints letter to them at the time, but heard nothing back; pretty poor. Poor communication by functions manager, limited music by DJ, staff being reminded to bring food out to the guests, no security which I paid for! Not a great experience and I wont go there anymore as a protest. Their slogan was;'Don't lift a finger...' what a joke!!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
8.5
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 1.5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 2

Matti: 8 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Four of us went yesterday for lunch . The service was so dissapointing . Unfriendly staff , drinks forgotten about orincorrect drinks brought to us . Coffee was luke warm also . Our main meals were lovely , however the service let the entire outing down . A smile would not go astray . We actually all felt like we were a total inconvienience to the place ...such a shame !

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
8
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 2.5
  • Value: 2.5

Sarah: 10 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

My friend and I were out for the first time in Henley beach and happened across Zootz. Attracted by the funky appearance and cutely named pizzas we thought we were on to a winner. WE WERE WRONG! The pizza was overpowered by garlic and dried herbs, soaked in grease and dripping in cheese. The service was no better. The staff were uninterested as we walked in, our starter and mains were brought out in the wrong order and dumped on the table. A very disappointing night out in Henley....

Do you Agree or Disagree?

5 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
7
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 2

Lauren: 8 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

Lovely idea and location however the experience was quite different! Booked for an anniversary lunch and after being promised that we'd be looked after, we were seated in full sun on a 35 degree day, despite other shaded tables being available - they were being held for walk-ins! Service was shocking, had to remind staff about drink orders multiple times and sat for 30 minutes with finished plates on our table while 3 different staff members walked past, empty-handed, at least every minute. The wait would have been annoying enough, but we also had to contend with tiny biting bugs everywhere: in our drinks, on our clothes and skin and on our cutlery! Food was OK but the side order of vegetables came out with the dish 3/4 full of butter - yuk! The final straw for us was the staff allowing a patron at the table next to us to put her dog on the table and give it a drink out of the ash-tray! NEVER going there again!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
7
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 1.5
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 1.5

Alex: 9 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

My partner I and had breakfast here a couple of Sundays ago and both ordered the traditional breakfast, with bacon, eggs, tomato, mushrooms and bread. We were very disappointed with what came out. Not only were my poached eggs not poached, we received plain, toasted sandwich bread. Not the great breakfast we had anticipated!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
6
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 2

Adam: 9 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

Awful service. Made a booking then there was no table for us. Got shifted from our first table so someone else could sit there. Got a dip platter with about 3 teaspoons of dip and carrots with black marks on them. Pizza base was raw. Waited half an hour for our drinks, asked a waiter who said he'd follow up then dissapeared. Waited another 10 minutes so I went up to the counter to as about them and copped a mouthful of attitude from the staff. Appalling.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
6
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 2

Caitlin: 8 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

I am a patient person, but quite simply this was the worst service I have ever encountered. We waited over half an hour for a beef and a caprioska (when there were clearly waiters standing behind the bar with nothing better to do). Food was average but nothing to write home about. Our second order of drinks was for just one beer (in the bottle). After waiting half an hour for this to arrive (it never did) we went up to the bar (as the table service was terrible), settled our bill and left. We will never return!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
5.5
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 1.5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

PJam: 8 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

Went for what was supposed to be a relaxing Sunday morning breakfast. Went and sat at the only table large enough to seat five outside and went into order only to be told by who we later found out was the manager "is that all of you? we have a party of 10 that comes in and sits there can you move?'' With no reserved sign on the table apparently us sitting at the table- also the only one in the sun showed contemp.. The manager then barked at other staff to set up another table. We sat to wait for a meals, which when delivered a bird then precided to poop in one.. Thankfully the waiter took it away to be replaced without prompting. During the time we were eating our table number was then replaced three times - it was placed at the centre of the table at the same manager's instruction without so much as an excuse me. Breckfast was okay, but $16 for eggs benidict is a bit rich for my blood - v.disapointing will not be back and reccomend avoidance!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

bobyn: 10 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

We went on a whim, thinking to support local business. However, the pasta was very oily (due to the sundried tomato), rather tasteless and the chicken was overcooked. The bruschetta, although large in portion was soggy and cold by the time it arrived at the table. My friend orderd a glass of wine from the bottle at the bar, only to see that it was served from an UNLABELLED bottle. Who knows what the contents was... Will not be returning or reccomending. Very dissapointed.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

JC2009: 8 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

My partner and I went to Zootz for dinner tonight which turned out to be one of our worst experiences in Adelaide. We ordered nachos and two steak burgers and asked to have them brought out together. The nachos finally came after an hour and the steak burgers took another 15 mins to come; there were only four tables filled at the restaurant. Nachos were nothing special and the steak in the burgers was sooo dry. When I asked for the BBQ sauce which was supposed to be in my burger, the waitress took my plate, came back, snd still there wasn't any sauce in it! I gave up on complaining by then. I couldn't even finish my burger because it was so dry. When I went up to the counter to pay our bill, we were honest enough to tell them that we got charged less than we should have. The waiter then got mad at us because he was given the wrong bill by the other waiter, and we had to wait another 10 minutes to get our bill fixed.... We will never go back to this place again.... We were just about to leave before our entre came, and I'm dissapointed that we didn't.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

LS7: 8 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

My third time going to Zoots for breakfast and just like my previous experiences there the customer service was horrible. I don't understand why they don't use reserved signs on tables that have been reserved, very confusing and annoying for customers. Took 25mins for 2 lattes to come out which were half froth and tasted terrible, anyone working there should have known it wasn't upto standard to serve. The food was average but the rude staff was enough for me to never go back again!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

redblue87: 8 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

An absolute disgrace. Ordered drinks in bottles that took over 20mins to come, reminded the staff on a number of occasions that we ordered drinks and still waited a further 10mins to get them. Our meals were a joke. Pizza's tasted like they were fresh out of the coles frozen section, the seafood was rubbery and small in comparison to the $26 price tag. For some reason the chicken was beer battered... I'd rather eat prison food. The service was horrendous, we asked to speak to the manager who didn't want to front up so we were left to talk to a waiter. To make matters worse we were charged for 5 more drinks than we ordered. A real shame, great location, could be anything, instead run by halfwhits with little to no idea about the importance of customer service.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Fitzy: 5 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

This is my first ever review: I eat out for breakfast regularly and this was the worst experience I've had in a long while. Coffee was luke warm and almost had no coffee taste (3 others said the same). Breakfast was really bad and I only had bacon and eggs. The bacon was double wrapped, charcolled on the top, undercooked in the middle. Service was also crap. Couldn't care less about our issues and got a coffee or for 3 coffes stuffed up. Only bought 2 and made out it was my fault. Will never return! Some advise: Employ a barrista that knows what a good coffee is!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Allessandra: 8 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

There were four of us and after very average appetizers, one was the three dip, which came with two, and two overcooked, dried pizzas, we hoped the mains would be better. Wrong! Plates had not been cleared of our table as the mains arrived and were either fitted in or in the case of my friend she was handed her own hot plate main course herself! Waitress knocked her cutlery off the table, picked it up and placed it again on the table. My squid (all 5 pieces of it) were very average. The flathead fish was so fishy as to be really aweful, not fresh at all. When she complained she was told this was the way flathead tasted! Rubbish we are fish eaters, and we know fresh fish and when it is not fresh! Another garfish was ordered, same thing, inedible due to the overpowering fishiness. She left it, and noone bothered to ask why. Plates were left on the table for over half an hour, until we finally stacked them one on the other to be noticed. Food and service at this restaurant are appalling. We noted other tables also constantly trying to get their waiter's attention. The waiting staff are all in their twenties with plenty of attitude. This is a great pity as it would be a lovely place to sit on a summer evening, but do yourself a favour and give it a big miss. Tried to email the owner, but undeliverable!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Lulu: 10 years ago – Link & Share

Would rate this a '0' if I could. Waited 1.5 hours on a Sunday morning for bacon & eggs for 2 adults and 2 children and it never came....was starving. Ordered at 10:30 and enquired at noon and they said they 'run out of eggs'. This is bollocks. Tables seated after us were being served. Overhead, that the chef didn't want to cook breakfasts anymore. Obviously, they don't want customers or they forgot out order - probably both. Got our money back and will NEVER EVER go into that hole again, and I'm a local.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
 

Add a review for Zootz Kitchen Bar

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience