Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

1.9
km

Sparrow Kitchen and Bar

10 O'Connell Street, North Adelaide

Telephone 08 8267 2444

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Pizza, Spanish, Tapas, Italian.

Average of 38 reviews

  • 3.6 / 5 Food
  • 3.8 / 5 Ambience
  • 3.1 / 5 Service
  • 3.1 / 5 Value
  • 13.6 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Sparrow Kitchen and Bar

20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

OliviaB: 10 years ago – Link & Share

I can't believe some of these bad reviews of Sparrow! How could anyone not love it? These people clearly aren't ready for such a dynamic and hip venue. It has it all - great food, great service, great value awesome atmosphere and an excellent casual and sophisticated interior! The bar is also a brilliant spot to sit for some last minute dinner or even just a quick beer. I can't say enough good things. I'm so glad I'm a local!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 6 disagree.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Sparrow Kitchen and Bar

 
 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

OliviaB: 10 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

I absolutely LOVE this place! Firstly, it has such a great smart/casual vibe and the food and drinks to match. I am a frequent customer here and you can go over and over again and have a different experience every time. Obviously the food is great (especially the tapas) but I also love the cocktails. We often go there and share a carafe of SANGRIA on a Sunday afternoon. I haven't got a bad things to say about Sparrow! I'm so glad we finally have a place like this in Adelaide!.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 people agree and 10 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

big unit: 10 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

Quite simply the best meal I have had in Adelaide for a very long time. I will be back - again and again and again. This is exaclty what Adelaide needed. Although they clearey dont need the extra business based on how popular they already are, I will be putting all of my friends, family and business associates onto this place.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

10 people agree and 15 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Annon3: 10 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

This place brilliant! I can't think of anyone who wouldn't enjoy it! And all locals will know it had a long way to climb back from the woeful years of Number 10.... However, they have done it perfectly. I particularly LOVE the PIZZA! The wood oven is a major asset and the pizza toppings are so creative eg GOAT, and they're not a bad price at all, especially when you compare them to the over rated pizza across the road. I'm also a huge fan of the meat fridge in the entrance - A huge selection of Spanish jamon sliced to perfection on the ferrari-like slicer by the beautiful staff! What a place - such theatre! I have taken many people here from interstate and overseas and a great time has been had all round. And I'll continue to frequent Sparrow for many years to come!!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 8 disagree.

 
20
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Allan: 10 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

What a great night. Did not book so no table available. Made us very welcome at the bar. Great attentive service. Delicious food. Try the anchovie pizza. Very good value for money. This is going to be a regular stop for us.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

16 people agree and 21 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

Sarah: 10 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

A couple of friends and I were keen to try Sparrow & took advantage of a free table for a weekday lunch. It turned out to be a great decision, with the three of us thoroughly enjoying ourselves. As a small eater I appreciated the individual tapas dishes which gave us a chance to taste more than we otherwise would’ve been able. We additionally ordered pizza and pasta, both of which were great. I am very fussy when it comes to pasta, finding that most restaurants / cafes have very little understanding of the term aldente; however Sparrow got it spot on with their squid ink spirale. The pizza was delicious, with a fantastic base and fresh toppings. I have found myself craving them since. As I often don't have the foresight to decide what I want to eat in advance, it’s too bad (yet not surprising) that Sparrow is so popular that it’s often completely full — even with a waiting list. I am very eager to go again, but will have to get my act together and book!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

13 people agree and 14 disagree.

 
19
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

FoodReview101: 7 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

loving the changes. looks amazing and lovely team

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
18.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4

Wojtek: 9 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

Quite possibly the best sangria I've had! The service was great, even though we had to wait for a table to become available. The bar served us well while waiting. Looking forward to trying the tapas taster as well as the Sunday Paella session!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
18
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

cb74: 10 years ago – Link & Share

I thoroughly enjoyed our evening at Sparrow, despite an issue with the wood oven right in the middle of a massive pizza craving! The place looks great and the bar set-up totally makes me wish I was a local... Service was excellent; just the right pitch, happy to explain dishes etc. The food was great (albeit sans pizza) and I'll definitely be back for a proper go at the tapas (and will ensure I'm not DD this time as the sherries list is one of the best in town). We had a small showing of tapas - the already famed duck doughnut a highlight - mains and dessert. I found our mains a lot on the salty-side, but think that may just be me, however our desserts were just perfect; right sizing, right flavour profile. Overall, a great variety of well-cooked dishes at very reasonable prices for the quality presented. Highly recommended.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
18
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5

P d: 9 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Tapas menu is great value we went on a quiet monday night and the service was great good the waiter gave us great wine advice ,we have been three times in the last year and it keeps on geting better

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

David: 10 years ago – Link & Share

After seeing a cross section of both positive, average and negative reviews here I was interested to experience Sparrow first hand and finally managed to get there over the long weekend. I visited with 3 friends without a booking (which I was warned not to do), but we managed to find a seat at the bar. Reading other reviews here that mentioned the bar I was unsure how comfortable it could be, but it was surprisingly accommodating and it was handy that the bar staff were always within reach for drink orders. We were offered a table before any food arrived and we opted to stay at the bar. We ordered a selection of tapas, pizza, pasta and dessert and everything was item was spot on. The price does start to add up when ordering a lot of little items, but the food is so involved and the fact you are able to taste so many different flavours makes it worth the money. It's not a cheap meal (particularly for big eaters), but it does represent good value.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

0 people agree and 4 disagree.

 
18
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4

billygsx: 8 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Have eaten there a few times, but espacially enjoy sitting at the large L shaped bar watching the theatre of it all. A very hip venue that puts a youthful vigour into what could be considered serious traditional food. Wine selection is good, (shiraz selection small but very well chosen) and the tappas and pizza make excellent choices. 27/5/11 Scoopon or Spreets have a voucher thing going and I highly recomend the investment to try this great venue.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17.5
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5

Amfu: 8 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

What an amazing meal! We felt like we needed to unzip our stomachs, there was so much food. Every mouthful was delicious and the service was prompt, friendly and competent. It was a little noisy but it was very busy. Highlights were the duck donuts and the creme catalana. Don't miss them! I'll be going back with bells on.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
16
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Meagan Abraham: 10 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

The Sparrow Bar & Kitchen seems to have sprouted up overnight in the place of Number Ten (precisely over Christmas '08). Boasting an open air courtyard in pale blues and greys, the place is super-chic and very inviting with the view from the trendy suburb making it a definite place for the cities 'it' crowd to be spotted. The place piqued my curiosity over the first weekend of February when I was strolling North Adelaide. The very same week I dined at the new, swanky restaurant and experienced a truly unforgettable tasting menu. Having taken the time to browse through the menu the day before I had a narrowed my selections down to a few with much difficulty. This is always a good thing in my opinion - visiting a restaurant and being spoilt for choice that is. If a menu can tease you and entice you back for more this can only mean one thing - the beginning of a new relationship! Accompanied by food loving friends a unanimous decision to sample the tasting tapas platter at $ 65 per head settled our dining arrangements for the evening. With that, we sat back realizing on a bottle of fine Spanish Wine that Jackie ordered after consulting Dan the friendly in-house sommelier. We began with a Tuna tartare with carrot and ginger emulsion. It was perfectly balanced the ginger is not overwhelming, instead interestingly it adds complexity to the simple yet fresh carrot flavour. The texture of the firm tuna bits in this dish is an extraordinary contrast to the smooth emulsion of root veggies and the highlight in this appetiser. Next up, Octopus carpaccio with potato foam and paprika. The paper thin slices of octopus carpaccio showcase the chef's mastery and skill of his knives. The beauty of this dish lies is in the unique subtlety of taste. Potato and octopus are naturally mild in flavour, potato starchy at most and octopus more radiant in terms of texture. However the addition of just the right amount of paprika brings the dish to life, accentuating dimensions to the dish that seem to be underlying, yet dormant without the activation of the spice. This clever combination of potato puree on top of the slippery slivers of octopus and finished with paprika is the penultimate textural marvel and most unique component of the tasting menu. The duck doughnuts will blow you away. The meat is packed with smoky flavours and eaten with the porcini salt you will die and go to heaven! The deep-fried Gorgonzola dumplings were tasty, but too heavy for my liking. Get the rest of my review and accompanying pictures at: http://meagan-megalomaniac.blogspot.com/2009/02/sparrow-bar-kitchen.html

Do you Agree or Disagree?

4 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
16
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 4

Stevo: 10 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

As a frequent visitor of the previous restaurant at 10 O'Connell St I decided I would give Sparrow Kitchen and Bar a try. Upon entering you notice the cool and funky new fit out along with its own bird cage hanging from the ceiling. As we had arrived prior to the full lunch menu starting we decided to try some of the wood oven pizzas. I had the Confit Pork, apple and rocket pizza and my partner had the margarita - both of which we're absolutely delicious. The staff were polite and helpful with making our pizza decisions however we did have to wait while we watched our pizza sit on the bench for a number of minutes before a staff member realised they were sitting there. Overall the experience was good and I will be returning soon to try some of the items off the full menu - I look forward to trying the 300g Berkshire pork rib eye!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 3 disagree.

 
15.5
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 3

Sally1826: 7 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

We had been looking forward to dinner here for quite sometime. Service was 20/20 but the major let down was not the food but the quantity. If you have a husband that loves a good carb filled feed after a long days worth of gardening then the 'tasting menu' is not for you. Even myself who normally eats a small meal was not impressed with the value of this particular tasting menu. On the other hand, I have been here for lunch and ordered the 'lunch tasting' which I felt had better quantity and quality for lesser value.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
15
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 5
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 4

Redchilli: 10 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

After looking at the brunch menu and organising a group of friends I ended up a bit disappointed. The restaurant itself has a great atmosphere with various dining options (outside, inside or at the bar) but the service was a bit of a let down. Despite ordering coffees at the same time there was a long delay in getting all of them and it took a while to get served when extra orders were required. My meal (baked bean toastie) was served cold. Despite this, I think I'll give it another go but for dinner.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

7 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
14.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 3.5

asch: 9 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

Love the food at Sparrow, the tapas are beautiful...particularly the chicken liver parfait and the white anchovies. The pizzas are very good too. The wine list is fairly interesting and the 'Charlie Chaplin' cocktail is amazing: a must try! However, the one thing that lets Sparrow down is the consistently poor service... they really don't have it together in that department. Although I love the food and atmosphere so much we continue to return. Maybe someone will read this and rectify the situation?

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
13
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

Persephone: 9 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

Pizza was ok - but those who ordered steak were not impressed. Service was ok - not sure why we couldn't keep the wine on our table - but I suppose it's their thing. Probably wouldn't dine here again.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
13
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

Anonymous: 10 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Great ambience. Waiting staff very obliging. Food is a little heavy and overpowering. Food is beautifully presented but the dish I chose was only warm and as it was pasta had obviously been sitting foor a while and was a bit claggy. Breakfasts are great, relaxing atmosphere. Just one thing for choice of music. On a Sunday morning when you are just starting the day loud doof doof music is not so relaxing. So chose for the clientele guys not yourselves.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 5 disagree.

 
13
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 3.5

Redchilli: 9 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

I was invited to a ladies lunch on a 39 degree Saturday so had my fingers crossed that we were booked inside - luckily we were. However, by the time the staff opened the massive double doors to the courtyard and left them open, we may as well have been sitting outside as the temperature rose and everyone inside sweltered. It didn't help that the drinks service was slow and so water was not topped up as regularly as we would have liked. Being a large group the organiser had opted for the set price tapas menu which was a great deal. A well spaced variety of tapas, pasta and pizzas came out throughout the afternoon. No one would have left hungry and the food was good.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
12.5
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 1.5
  • Value: 3

Omnomnom: 9 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

My friend and I called to book a table for some desert, but understandable could not because we weren't ordering a meal on their busiest night, but advised us to come after 9 and they'd see what they could do. After arriving, we were told to wait on the window seats for a table to clear. About 15 minutes later, a different waiter told us that we could order and eat at the window, which was fine with us. After being given a menu, we were left alone for 20 minutes, despite catching the eyes of various waiters. They seemed to treat us like 'somebody else's problem', so when a space opened up on the bar, we jumped for it and sat there for another 15 minutes RIGHT IN FRONT OF THE CASH REGISTER! Not once were we asked if we were being helped, and our menus were clearly packed up and pushed aside. None of the two waiters that greeted us in the first place ever came to see that we had been looked after. Luckily, a man in charge of the wine realised what had been happening and sincerely apologised and checked on us many times throughout our dessert, even providing us with a complimentary drink. This was not the first time I have been disappointed by too-cool-for-school waiters at Sparrow. Some of the food is to die for, while other dishes such as the pizzas and pastas lack flavour or topping. I'm still debating whether or not to return for a fourth visit.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
12
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 2

Anonymous: 10 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

I have been to sparrow on a couple of occasions. I think the atmosphere in there is great and the staff that served me both times were very nice. I havent got much good to say about the food, i think it is all a bit over rated and way over priced for what it is. really didnt like their pizza...there is way too much crust and barely any topping!!! and they have simply copied and exact pizza from a competitive restaurant that i go to and i think that is absolutely pathetic that the chefs could do that!!! They have also copied uniform and many other things from the competitve restaurant..which i guess compliments their competitors but i think they should have copied somethng that wasnt so close to home. In saying all this i do think they have nice cheese platters!! one more thing..what is with the colouring in competitions on the toilet walls...totally over the top!!!! sorry but its trying a little too hard!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

13 people agree and 6 disagree.

 
12
  • Food: 2.5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 2.5

muddacha: 9 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

Have been there twice, both times sampling a broad selection of tapas. The food presentation is inventive, but doesn't deliver on taste - I would go for the Jamon just by itself. The wine list is very good, and the room is amazing, unfortunately the service was a let down, both times we had staff walking past, until we had to literally stick our hand up in the air for a minute until someone saw us.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

4 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
12
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3

eleven89: 8 years, 9 months ago – Link & Share

After hearing so many good things we decided to give Sparrow a go. Our waitress was very friendly but overall the food was very disappointing, the gnocchi was truely terrible and the duck donut (after all the positive reviews) was not great. Would probably not go back despite the beautiful decor and location.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
12
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 3.5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 3

Foodie83: 7 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

The food was okay, tapas serves and the meat platter were very small for the price. The pizzas were fantastic though, nice and big and good value for money. The atmosphere is quite nice but what really puts me off in returning for our fourth time is the service. One word. Terrible! We repeatedly asked for more drinks which never came. I took my husband there for his 30th and for the whole night I think he had two beers!!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
10.5
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 2

CPP: 9 years ago – Link & Share

Interesting set of reviews, and consistent with my own experience about a year ago. The food was ok, but not spectacular and the service was indifferent and incompetent. Seems like an ill-thought out business model to me. The quicker and more efficiently they can serve patrons and move them out, the more people they can serve in a night and the more money they can make. At the moment they seem to be trading exclusively on fleeting cool and ephemeral hipness. Once the novelty wears off, I don't think the restaurant will survive.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person disagrees and no one agrees.

 
9
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 2

Anonymous: 10 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

We went to Sparrow on a very hot day (around 38 degrees). The airconditioning was completely inadequate. In fact, the wood oven made the restaurant even hotter than it was outside. The menu was extensive and appealing, however, the food was a little disappointing. The potato pizza was dry and overpowering with far too much rosemary. The lemon tart had pithe in it, which caused a bitter after-taste. The chocolate and peanut butter doughnuts were the saving grace in terms of the food. Warm and gooey, they'd make a great winter dish. We felt sorry for the staff, who had to work in such hot conditions. Great decor, great menu and young, hip staff. I'm hoping the food develops over time.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

8 people agree and 10 disagree.

 
9
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 2

Michael: 10 years, 4 months ago – Link & Share

i went to sparrows for the first time two weeks ago. a mistake for sure. steak was over cooked and the plate was very plain. just the meat which was advertised as a large rib eye. a certain competitor that has raised the bar in this genre of restaurant located on hutt street is doing a far better job. my bill was a large one (between three hundred ad three hundred and fifty dollars) would have much been better spent at the hutt street venue. no music playing in the restaurant made the ambience quite minimal and boring. service was ok but nothing crash hot. wont be back wont be reccomending to anyone

Do you Agree or Disagree?

10 people agree and 7 disagree.

 
9
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 1

Mike: 10 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

Went on Saturday night after hearing the hype however was extremely disappointed. Booking was made over 3 weeks ago to secure a good table however we were placed on the border of the indoor/outdoor area. Being a cold night it was not a good place to be seated. After eating the first course we asked the waitress to close the doors who obliged however one of her male co-workers objected and asked that one door be left open which in turn caused a strong draught. Tapas plates were tasty, small and expensive. Mains were priced on the reasonable to high end. Three of us ordered the sirloin steak. And that is all we got, a piece of steak on the plate. Everything else had to be ordered as a side (at an extra cost). Biggest disappointment was the meat was extremely salty as was the salad. Overall a truly expensive and poor dining experience that wont have us going back in a hurry.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

5 people agree and 4 disagree.

 
8.5
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1.5

PJ1983: 7 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

After reading all of these favourable reviews, my partner and I were very disappointed by Sparrow. We are regular restaurant goers, and take advantage of Scoopons and other vouchers wherever we can because why wouldn't you seek out discounts if they are available? But we were made to feel like uncultured cheapskates for daring to use our voucher - if only they knew we were scouting the place out to come back for a bigger celebration where would have paid full price ;-) I have to say, the paella was very, very nice, however our entree of chorizo empanada was only okay. If the service had been better we might have considered returning, but if they are going to be snobby and elitist about who comes into their precious restaurant, it's not the kind of place we'd want to take our family and friends to anyway. When we first walked in, the waiter claimed to not have our booking, then when we were finally seated (they had our booking the whole time, we suspect they sent us to the bar so we would buy drinks and they could shake some more money out of us), during dinner he walked off while my boyfriend was mid-sentence asking for some water for the table. Being on a scoopon, we didn't expect to be able to order the $150 bottle of wine, or to be able to really eat up big, we knew we were getting a great deal and that was all we wanted, as well as some friendly service. Instead, we didn't get everything promised on the voucher, didn't even see a wine list, and were told we couldn't order some of the higher priced tapas entrees on the menu. I've never bothered writing a review on one of these sites before, but I really feel people need to hear the other side of the story - if they are going to be elitist about what kind of customers they want in their restaurant, and don't have respect for ALL of their customers, in my opinion they don't deserve to survive. We have been to much grander places where the service completely outshone Sparrow - both with and without vouchers. Not that it should matter anyway, they shouldn't offer vouchers if they aren't going to do it with grace.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
8.5
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 1.5

RKMC: 9 years, 1 month ago – Link & Share

Very disappointed as i'd heard alot of great things about this place. Thursday night dinner and the place was almost packed which normally means the place is good but i found it far from this from service right through to food and price. We were seated, offered water by our waitress so all started off well. Then we weren't even given menus till some 25mins later. After receiving our menus, we struggled to get our waitress to take our order for a further 45mins. She was busy serving other tables...it looked like there were about 3 waitresses and each waitress had designated tables to look after...our waitress appeared to be flat out but that just means they're obviously short-staffed. Some 45mins after we ordered we got our meals....the tapas was lovely but let me try and describe how much of a rip off it was....i had the crab and rocket sandwich..don't be fooled into thinking its anything close the size of a sandwich (being a tapas item i didn't expect it to be) but more like a quarter of a normal sandwich - tiny - and all for $5.90. It only took 1 bite to eat the whole thing thats how tiny it was. The mains arrived, i ordered the beef check gnocci (main serve) and it wasn't a generous size..i was still a little hungry. Friend ordered the Barramundi and that too was on the smallish size. My boyfriend ordered the fish pizza and this was the only decent sized meal out of all and it tasted ok. The room was terribly noisy and we couldn't hear eachother talk but that tends to be the case with places like this where there is a lot of communual dining (benches) and a bar. I don't think i'd bother coming back..food, price, serving sizes and service was below average in all areas so not going to pay for something like that.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
8.5
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 1.5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 2

anon: 9 years ago – Link & Share

Food was lovely, but service was absolutely disgusting. Snobby, rude and offensive waitress who treated us like dirt. Will not be eating here again.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
8.5
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 2

Dodgers: 9 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Dined there on Saturday 20th February, 2010. Service was appalling, no airconditioning, food good but very overprised, would not go back and would definately not go back

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
7.5
  • Food: 2.5
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 2
  • Value: 1

Melvum: 9 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

I had been looking forward to dinner at this restaurant for awhile. I was horribly disappointed. The staf were so rude, they forgot to bring out food on 2 differnt occassions and we we asked for it, we were told that we did not order it. The food took forever and came out staggered, so some people's were cold before others got theirs, we only had a 2 course meal for 4 people but were in the restaurant for almost 3 hours! The serving sizes were very small, they advertise tapas, yet some of them were only 1 serve, so you had to buy multiples. Very very disappointed. We were planning to hold a large xmas do here, but not any more.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

7 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
6
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

aussie21: 9 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Went to sparrow sataurday night.The tappas was TASTELESS except for a small hamburger.We also ordered a pizza which was undercooked. Very dissapointing.The seemed to be a lot of staff but no direction as food and bererage orders took ages

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 1 disagree.

 
5
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

Anonymous: 10 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Food tapas average, duck doughnuts good, eel croquets just taste like béchamel sauce. The blood sausage was tasty. The 62degree egg, a crock of bull s**t all it was, was a nicely cooked egg. so what if it was cooked sous vide, I can do that in a pan I don’t want to pay $9.50 for an egg and under seasoned beef. The goat and rabbit were both tasty although over priced (as was every thing in the place). The pork cheek pizza was uneatable. What pork cheek? Well there was none. Over season to the degree that I who loves salt could not eat it and with so much rocket that it was difficult to tell if it was a salad or a pizza. Also the pizzas that use to come out of that oven from cibo and number ten were some of the best in Adelaide go back to there recipe for the base not the under cooked and tasteless dough you have now. Now for desserts biggest rip off in Adelaide $4.50 for a 1/4 of a small lemon tart, churros were not churros but oily batter fried until crispy and peanut butter chocolate, were not America so stop copying Tomas Keller and the French Laundry. Ambience Ok not great need better out door seating and music needed. Service Terrible. Here’s a tip try clearing a table before resetting the table next to us and also at lease make it seem like your bring out new condiments for the meat rather than taking it from our table to the table next to us. Value Worst and most expensive tapas restaurants around go to one of the real place that are doing them properly

Do you Agree or Disagree?

16 people agree and 17 disagree.

 
4
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1

SplashMountain: 9 years, 3 months ago – Link & Share

First time I went to Sparrow was October last year, my friends & I ate but was nothing memorable. Waiting staff terrible took forever to serve us and did not bring any drinks when we repeatedly asked for some. Thought would give it another go tonight, no can do, unfriendly waitresses everywhere, one sat us down and never came back and did not glance our way once, nor did any of the other waitresses. We waited about 15 minutes and walked out without anyone even raising an eyebrow. Went across the road to GoodLife and the difference in service was like night and day.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 0 disagree.

 
 

Add a review for Sparrow Kitchen and Bar

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience