Adelaide Restaurants Adelaide Restaurants

Find Restaurants in Adelaide

1.1
km

Taj Tandoor

290 Rundle Street, Adelaide

Telephone 08 8359 2066

Distance calculated from Adelaide

Serving Indian.

Average of 17 reviews

  • 3.6 / 5 Food
  • 3.2 / 5 Ambience
  • 3 / 5 Service
  • 3.6 / 5 Value
  • 13.4 / 20 Overall
 
 

Restaurant Review for Taj Tandoor

19
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5

Azmeel: 9 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

An excellent indian food experience. I loved the food with thrilling view of rundle street from huge windows. Try Buna Gosht a smart idea to treat your taste buds.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

4 people agree and 5 disagree.

 

More Restaurant Reviews for Taj Tandoor

 
 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

Samual rayan: 9 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

More functional than romantic and a place where food, not fancy surroundings, is the most important factor,the Lamb with spinach puree, kasturi methi and spices is a whole medley of tastes in one mouthful.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

4 people agree and 4 disagree.

 
18
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 5

Helen brophy: 9 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

Excellent indian food clubbed with indian hospitatlity. Must try seekh kabab. I must say one of the best indian resturants around.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 5 disagree.

 
17.5
  • Food: 4.5
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4.5

sam: 7 years, 5 months ago – Link & Share

Me and ma friends had our 21st at Taj tandoor, we were given a special function room, which was great and we could play our own music. The food was epic. I love the Chicken Tikka and Prawn dish...Yummy. Drink were served at a very reasonable price. Service was good, very impressed with the manager- Ann...a must go place.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
17
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Jamie: 9 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Mouth watering, real indian taste, prawn dakshin is my favourate. Worth trying, service gets bit slow sometimes but apart from that thumbs up for Taj.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 4 disagree.

 
16
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

david wallace: 9 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

We got a booking for 10. people were lined up at the door to get a table, lucky we had booked a table. Host Anne gave us a pleasent welcome and gave a nice table. We had set menu, mix entree was yummy, Butter chiken and cheese naan was mouthwatering. Overall experience was good. I give 10 outa 10 to taj.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 4 disagree.

 
16
  • Food: 5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Andrew williams: 9 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

The atmosphere is unpretentious yet relaxing, I liked the idea of artificial candlesportions are generous and service is friendly and highly professional, Rogan josh and garlic naan was superb.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 4 disagree.

 
15
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 4
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 4

Sonja: 9 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

Tikka massala is good, Chicken curry is good, and Prawn masala is excellent. Definitely, give it a try. Food got here quickly and me and ma bf was totally satisfied.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

2 people agree and 4 disagree.

 
15
  • Food: 4
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4

Maria: 9 years, 6 months ago – Link & Share

Good food clubbed with soothing ambience makes it a perfect place for an indian treat. Try TAj for a true indian food

Do you Agree or Disagree?

3 people agree and 4 disagree.

 
13.5
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3

ts3333: 7 years, 2 months ago – Link & Share

Apart from there being gravel in my rice it was quite nice!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
12
  • Food: 3.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 2.5
  • Value: 3

soothepanda: 7 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

Better than average Indian food with worse than average service. Lamb saag and butter chicken dishes were tasty - decent portion sizes, incredibly tender lamb and good flavours. Definitely better than the average Indian restaurant in Adelaide, but not 'wow' either. However, Taj Tandoor's service was a bit all over the place - the kind of restaurant where each member of staff has very specific tasks - so you ask for water, but that person can't bring you water, as they're not a drinks waiter, etc. I've seen this work well in some places where the team is managed well - but in this case it all seemed very disorganised. Was served my drink after 3 reminders after finishing my meal - not impressed. Would happily eat take away from there again if somebody was particuarly keen, or using the entertainment card discount, but definitely wouldn't rush back - better service most other places.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
11
  • Food: 2
  • Ambience: 4.5
  • Service: 1.5
  • Value: 3

a.seramoore: 6 years, 11 months ago – Link & Share

I went to Taj Tandoor for dinner with my husband. After being seated, our waiter spent most of the time on his mobile! I didn't know waiters were allowed to do that. I ended up finding a hair in my food and we were then ignored for half an hour while we sipped on the drinks we never got. The restaurant itself is stunning, though. The tables are well set, the decor is lovely and the giant glass windows are beautiful to look out of. It's a shame that such a nice setting can be nulled by bad service.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
9
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 2.5
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 2.5

m and k: 7 years, 8 months ago – Link & Share

WORST DINING EXPERIENCE YET... Overall we were disgusted with the poor service - waiting over 30 minutes ? just for a drink to be brought to our table, the way the manager Anne yelled at her staff ? ordering them around even while they were taking orders, how not everything we ordered was bought to the table - despite asking three times for the missing items, and having to eat in darkness (in fact when another table asked for the lights to be switched on they were told if they did not like it to leave). However we feel the real icing on the cake was the waitress yelling at us as we tried to pay our bill - trying to force us to pay for a bottle of wine we never consumed, stating that it was on her computer so someone had to pay for it. Have not had a worse dining experience yet ? utterly dissatisfied.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
9
  • Food: 1.5
  • Ambience: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 1.5

geeeDub: 9 years ago – Link & Share

I cannot qualify myself as a food critic but being an Indian food lover, this is definitely the worst experience. Please do not get me wrong, I love food in Adelaide and this is the only disappointment. My partner and I ordered papadum platter as starter, samosas as entree, malai kofta and chicken butter masala as main, with eggplant raita, garlic naans and pulao rice. Papadam and samosas were tasty. When we tasted the chicken butter masala, we thought we had ordered chicken butter soup for the masala was tasteless and watery. The only description to fit it would be watered-down bottled sauce. And for the malai kofta, my partner described it as bland. Not much cheese or almond, just potato balls with flavourless gravy. We tried to explain about the food to our waitress, who passed on the word to the kitchen. Not long later there was this guy who seems to be in charge glanced over our table, that was the only answer we had. I wished we checked other reviews before made our way to this restaurant. Below take away quality food on dine out price. Total bill: $92 including 4 pure blonde beer.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

1 person agrees and no one disagrees.

 
8
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 5

chloe: 9 years ago – Link & Share

I thought I had organised a lovely hens night for my sister in the private room at Taj Tandoor. Boy, was I wrong!! Please save your money and go elsewhere!! For $180 I was told that I could book the room, there would be a fully operating bar with someone behind it, there wasn't when we arrived. When I talked to the manager about this she was rude, abrupt and offensive not to mention extremely unprofessional and emotional! We were told that it was too expensive to run the fridges for a small group of people - fine but tell us that b4 we book. We were told that instead if we wanted drinks we had to push a button and a waiter would come up straight away to get our order - that was a lie, it took them ages sometimes. Girls payed for drinks as they got them, some had to wait over 30mns for change! When we arrived there was no air conditioning on. The manager saying that she didn't know what time we were coming, after I had told her twice we would be there at 5:30. Bottom line, Taj Tandoor will promise a lot but not deliver - save your money and have a great night somewhere else. All of the above really put a dampner on everyone's night.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
8
  • Food: 3
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 2

my friend the sandwich: 9 years, 10 months ago – Link & Share

A lost booking, staff that try to whip away your food (repeatedly) while your fork is still in your hand, and a noisy, crowded room where waiters knock into anything standing in their way, including customers seated at tables. Food is fine but nothing special, not that you can concentrate on it anyway. Would definitley not eat here again especially with the surrounding places to choose from.

Do you Agree or Disagree?

8 people agree and 2 disagree.

 
5.5
  • Food: 1
  • Ambience: 2
  • Service: 1
  • Value: 1.5

KB1: 7 years, 7 months ago – Link & Share

I have never experienced such a badly run restaurant. We walked into the restaurant after booking a table for 12 only to be directed to a table for 2. After telling them we booked for 12 at least 3 times we were finally directed to our table, which had chairs against the wall so half of us could not even get out without moving the entire group out. Also, cutlery was scattered on the table with some seats not even having ANY. We ordered some drinks while waiting for our friends which seemed all good until we were sitting there for 15 minutes with no drinks arriving. Finally they arrived, in the smallest glasses possible (also about $4-$5 a glass). After this we were all VERY tempted to just pay and leave but we thought maybe the food would be worth it. Food was ordered, we waited for at least an hour for it to arrive at the table, with none of them arriving at the same time. We were also constantly asked if we wanted papadum platters, which we denied on a number of occasions by the same person. I ordered papadums to come with my main with the menu stating "4 per serve" and only received 3. Finally, after we had all eaten I went up and asked for the bill. The lady behind the counter said she would bring it right over... 15 minutes passed... another friend I was dining with decided to ask again... 10 minutes later and we finally had the bill ONLY TO FIND there was a surcharge of the total of $15 added because it's Sunday?! Maybe tell us this BEFORE we order! After putting the money together, we paid... and waited for them to process it for at least another half an hour before we could FINALLY leave the place. Ended up walking out of the restaurant 110% more stressed than when we walked in the front door. Do not recommend this place at all!

Do you Agree or Disagree?

No one agrees or disagrees with this review.

 
 

Add a review for Taj Tandoor

4

Drag the bars to assign your score

Describe your experience